Thing 17: Ning

Image

I feel as though these Ning’s were like Blogs on steroids.(Future of Education, Teacher Librarian Ning) They’re organized into different sections that appeal to the target audience of that particular Ning & it overwhelmed me. I saw things from articles to blogs to feeds/tweets. When I opened Ning for Teachers  I thought I had the wrong link because the first thing you saw were resources teachers could use in their classroom. 

When I first read what a Ning was & the 7 Things I Need to Know about Ning’s article I thought oh cool I see so many uses for this technology in my class. I thought it is like a chatroom setting for a project or forum for students to go to discuss however you don’t need an invitation to join. This setting could allow teachers to come in & voice their thoughts in a secure setting that no one could misconstrue as anything except staying on track with the topic. It also could allow other individuals from across the world to come in & add to the topic. This would give students an extra bonus for hearing what someone else thinks outside their class or school setting. Before using Nings a protocol would have to be set about the behaviors in a Ning. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment