Thing 12: Microblogging

Tweet

When I told my husband that I had to sign up for a Twitter account for Thing 12 he got excited. No it wasn’t because tweeting could help me in the library it was so he could send mean tweets to celebrities & hopefully end up Jimmy Kemmel Celebrities Read Mean Tweets on yet it’d all be under my name. Isn’t he such a sweetie? lol

Tweeting wasn’t so bad. It reminded me of a combo of Facebook & texting all in one. Many times during the day my grade level team will group text with questions, thoughts, etc. so it seems that we are all holding a conversation. Of course there’s the problem of texts coming in at different times so text B would come before text A & all would be confused. Tweeting has the same aspect of tweets coming in at different times like this. The whole idea being similar to Facebook is because everyone I know posts EVERYTHING on Facebook & that’s how they keep up-to-date on things. However they have to take time to post going minutes, hours, or days between posts whereas Tweets are immediate. Tweets can have spaces between time as well.

I don’t think I’ll go back on anytime soon because it could be easy to get sucked in. When or if I did I definitely would use it to stay current on things. I could see using tweeting in the library to keep students or patrons up-to-date on things going on in the library. (new books, events, etc.) I saw that the Manchester Library even used theirs as a way for people to see if a book was in or not.

Leave a comment

June 29, 2013 · 1:39 am

Leave a comment